Faculty Council of Humanities and Social Sciences Meeting

Wednesday, January 5, 2022

The regular meeting of the Faculty Council, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, was held on Wednesday, January 5, 2022 at 1:00 p.m. via WebEx. A list of those present is appended.

1. Land Acknowledgement

Dr. Ailsa Craig provided the Land Acknowledgement

We respectfully acknowledge the territory in which we gather as the ancestral homelands of the Beothuk, and the island of Newfoundland as the ancestral homelands of the Mi'kmaq and Beothuk. We would also like to recognize the Inuit of Nunatsiavut and NunatuKavut and the Innu of Nitassinan, and their ancestors, as the original people of Labrador. We strive for respectful relationships with all the peoples of this province as we search for collective healing and true reconciliation and honour this beautiful land together.

2. Approval of the Agenda

Moved and Seconded that the Agenda be approved (P. Basabose/B. Schipper). Carried.

3. Approval of the Minutes

Moved and Seconded that the minutes of the December 1, 2021 meeting be approved (H. Everett/S. Curtis. Carried.

4. Update from Chair, Curriculum and Programs Committee (2021-2022), (N. Catto), followed by motion(s) listed below:

• Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

o Program Director (S. Curtis; carried)

Department of Archaeology

- o Courses update 2021 (H. Everett; carried)
- o Regulations update 2021 (P. Dold; carried)

Department of Classics

o Classics 3902: Ancient Greek and Roman Mathematics (B. Schipper; carried)

• Department of Economics

o Regulations 9.8.1, Qualifications for Admission (W. Locke; carried)

• Department of Folklore

o PhD Program (H. Everett; carried)

• Department of History

- History 1111: Events that Changed the World: An Introduction to History (S. Curtis; carried)
- o History 3940: Urban Life in Medieval Europe (S. Curtis; carried)
- o History 4427: The Great War and the Making of the Middle East (S. Curtis; carried)

• Department of Linguistics

- o Undergraduate Changes (Fall 2021) (C. Dyck; carried)
- o Graduate Program Changes (Fall 2021) (C. Dyck; carried)

• Department of Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures

o German Courses update (Fall 2021) (P. Basabose; carried)

• Department of Political Science

- o Law and Society 3012 and Political Science 3830 (P. Dold; carried)
- o Political Science 4215 and Law and Society 3300 (P. Dold; carried)
- o Political Science Co-op updates (T. MacKenzie; carried)

• Department of Religious Studies

o Religious Studies 3520: Religions from Left Field (P. Dold; carried)

• Department of Sociology

- Sociology 2208: Homelessness and Social Control (cross listing) (H. Everett; carried)
- o Sociology 3040/3041 (C. Dyck; carried)
- o Diploma in Police Studies Deletion (L. Swiss; carried)
- o Criminology minor (K. Stanbridge; carried)
- o Criminology Major update (Fall 2021) (L. Swiss; carried)

5. Update from Acting Associate Dean, Curriculum and Programs (S. Hoff)

- Instructional support for this term was emailed on December 23rd which included the HSS continuity plan plus syllabi recommendations.
- The Dean's Office is seeking expressions of interest in Delivering an Off-Campus Field School or Harlow Program between Spring 2022 and Winter 2023. The deadline is January 14.
- The Heads Binder information is still being re-worked and will be uploaded to Brightspace once completed.

6. Update from Associate Dean, Research (T. Allen)

- SSHRC Insight Development Grant deadline to HSS is January 12, 2022.
- The CERC proposal deadline has been extended. Proposals to the Dean's Office is due on January 10.
- Deadlines for the SSHRC Explore/Exchange grants is February 3. The Dean's Office will be hosting a Webinar on January 14 at 10 a.m. to support ASMs with applications.

7. Dean's Updates

- Dean's Office staff is primarily working remotely and all meetings are held virtually.
- No information yet on transitioning back to in-person classes.
- Strategic Plan for HSS: The Dean's Office will create a draft, in consultation with Heads, and then complete faculty-wide consultation.
- Question arose re previously scheduled deferred exams (post-meeting note information from the Office of Health & Safety distributed by Dr. Craig Jan 6/22).

8. Research Impacting Indigenous Groups (RIIG) Policy - Ms. Violet Ford, Associate Vice-President (Indigenous Research)

• Ms. Ford gave a brief overview of the RIIG policy and noted that consultations are ongoing. Any questions/concerns can be sent directly to Ms. Ford (IndigenousResearch@mun.ca).

9. Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

List of Attendees

Kelley Totten (Folklore), Norm Catto (Geography), Rose Frew (Dean's Office), Blair Winsor (Business Administration), Charlene Burke (Dean's Office), Jennifer Dyer (Gender Studies), Karen Stanbridge (Sociology), Karin Thoemeier (Digital Learning Centre), Arthur Sullivan (Philosophy), Bill Schipper (English), Tana Allen (Dean's Office/Classics), Carrie Dyck (Linguistics), Christopher Cogan, Barry Stephenson (Religious Studies), Christopher Lockett (English), David Hancock (English), Kate Lahey, Kathryn Simonsen (Classics), Ken Hopkins (Dean's Office), Luke Roman (Classics), Lynn Gambin (Economics), Milo Nikolic (Classics), Patricia Dold (Religious Studies), Philippe Basabose (MLLC), Renee Skinner (Registrar's Office), Samantha Lehman (English), Alex Marland (Political Science), Yolande Pottie-Sherman (Geography), Jeffrey Howard (Classics), Shannon Hoff (Dean's Office/Philosophy), Ailsa Craig (Dean's Office/Sociology), Doug Wharram (Linguistics), Sebastien Rossignol (History), Sharon Roseman (Anthropology), Stephan Curtis (History), Theresa Mackenzie (Co-op Education), Vaughan Grimes (Archaeology), Sarah Thorne (English), Wade Locke (Economics), Renee Shute (Dean's Office), Myriam Osorio (MLLC), Natasha Farrell, Matthew Milner (Dean's Office), Heather C. O'Brien (Dean's Office), Karine Abadie (MLLC), Liam Swiss (Sociology), Jillian Gould (Folklore), Julie Kavanagh, Jennifer Lokash (English), Holly Everett (Folklore), Dominique Bregent-Heald (History), Jay Foster (Philosophy), Dave Wilson (Science), Daniel Peretti (Folklore), Catherine Losier (Archaeology), Arn Keeling (Geography), Andrea Keating (Dean's Office), Allyson MacNeill (CITL), Anne Thareau (MLLC), Wendy Mosdell (English), Walter Okshevsky (Education),

Regrets

Sonja Boon (Gender Studies), Jennifer Lokash (English), Andrea Keating (Dean's Office), and Renee Shute (Dean's Office)